vegan-twizzlers
  • Alyssa Fontaine, RD
  • Mar 04, 2025

Are Twizzlers Vegan?

vegan-twizzlers

Did you know this popular candy is 180 years old as of 2025? Twizzlers have been around since our great grandparents! These sweet bright red twists have been raising questions for vegans. As plant-based dietitians, let’s take a closer look at Twizzlers.

What Are Twizzlers Made Of?

Ingredients lists can be tricky, so we’ve broken down the challenging ones. Do note that not all of these ingredients are in each Twizzler product.

  • Corn Syrup: Sweetener made from corn.
  • Enriched Wheat Flour: Refined flour with added B vitamins and iron.
  • Cornstarch: Powder made from corn. It thickens the candy.
  • Artificial Flavor: Lab-made flavor for taste.
  • Citric Acid: Sour acid from fruits like lemons. It adds a tangy flavour and helps preserve the candy.
  • Glyceryl Monostearate and Glycerin: Both can come from animal fat or plant oils. They blend ingredients and keep the candy smooth.
  • Mineral Oil: Petroleum-based ingredient. Used in small amounts to help with food processing.
  • Artificial Color (Red 40): Lab-made red colour.
  • Lecithin: Soy-based ingredient. Helps mixing ingredients smoothly.

Do Twizzlers Have Gelatin?

Gelatin creates the signature bouncy texture in candies like marshmallows and gummy bears. On the other hand, Twizzlers get their chewy texture from the combination of cornstarch, corn syrup, and flour- not gelatin.

Do Twizzlers Contain Pork?

Twizzlers don’t contain any obvious pork-derived ingredients. But remember, it’s always a good idea to double-check the label. Ingredients can change!

Are Twizzlers Non-Toxic?

While Twizzlers are considered safe to eat, they’re not necessarily the healthiest option. According to the Environmental Working Group (EWG), Twizzlers’ Twisted Strawberry scores 8 out of 10 (10 is of higher concern). Some ingredients in Twizzlers raise eyebrows:

  • Red 40: The evidence out there is mixed. Some people have reactions to it, and it might be linked to hyperactivity in kids. It’s still considered safe by the FDA but it is restricted in European countries. 
  • Mineral Oil: This comes from petroleum and is used in foods, moisturizers and more.
  • Artificial Flavors: This doesn’t really tell you what’s in it. Some of the chemicals used might trigger allergies or have other effects.

For more information, you can visit the EWG Twizzlers page.

Are Twizzlers Vegan?

Now, it may look like they are, but unfortunately it is not that obvious. 

Both glycerin and glyceryl monostearate can come from animal fats OR plant oils. When we reached out to Hersheyland Canada, they could not confirm which source they come from. 

Perhaps to your surprise, sugar might be processed with bone-char. This is a powder made from burnt animal bones, and filters sugar into refined sugar. While there is vegan certified sugar, again, Hersheyland Canada cannot identify if this source is also vegan.

Therefore, the vegan-friendly status remains uncertain.

Here is  a list of Twizzlers products that might be vegan.  If you want to skip the uncertainty, here is a list of verified vegan-friendly alternatives.

Are Twizzlers Vegetarian

We cannot confirm that Twizzlers are vegetarian either, due to the same ingredients mentioned above.

Final words…

While Twizzlers don’t contain gelatin or obvious animal-derived ingredients, they also don’t have a vegan or vegetarian certification. If you’re strictly avoiding animal products, it might be best to steer clear of Twizzlers. If you want to avoid the guessing game, choose candies with a written vegan certification.

Book a free discovery call with a vegan dietitian today—we will help sort out candy confusion and more!

© All Rights Reserved, Plant-Based Dietitians 2026